Share

Just Acts: Love Resists Criminalization of Our Communities
Nov. 14th Webinar & More


Dear Friend,

Thank you for the extraordinary spirit of faithful resistance being demonstrated by our UU community. We receive weekly reports from congregations and UU communities working to expand sanctuary, acting in solidarity with targeted communities, and requests for help to be more effective and organized in our resistance.

Over the past several months the Love Resists Campaign has been building our spiritual community through hosting monthly Conscience Calls to ground our work and learn from each other. We are now shifting to offer various learning community webinars with frontline grassroots organizers to learn more about how criminalization is operating in our communities and to provide hands on tools for resisting and dismantling it.

Please join us on Tuesday, November 14th at 7 pm ET, 6 pm CT, 5 pm MT, 4 pm PT, for Love Resists Criminalization: Mass Incarceration, Deportation, and Surveillance Today

You will hear from front line organizers:

  • Jacinta Gonzalez, Field Director, Mijente (Phoenix, AZ)
  • Fatema Ahmad, Deputy Director, Muslim Justice League (Boston, MA)
  • Jamila Hammami, Executive Director, Queer Detainee Empowerment Project (NYC, NY)
  • Ruth Idakula, Co-Director of Center for Ethical Living and Social Justice Renewal / Dignity in Schools Coordinating Committee Member (New Orleans, LA)

Facilitated by Hannah Hafter, UUSC & Love Resists Organizer


It's also not too late to join the Love Resists & Church of the Larger Fellowship Learning Community on Taking Action to Stop Racist Policing in our Cities & Towns.

Led by (UU) leading civil rights attorneys Al & Adam Gerhardstein and community advocates, your team will receive hands-on, practical mentoring on how to keep your community safer by eliminating racial profiling and reducing arrests and police violence. Locally-based teams will learn how to address racially-biased policing.

You can see the first webinar for free and then register for the following three sessions here. There is a $200 fee that will go to CLF and community partners. The next dates are:

Friday afternoons 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET/11:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. PT on February 23, 2018, March 23, 2018, May 4, 2018, and a session at the June 2018 General Assembly

Through these webinar communities, you will learn where you fit into the growing social movements that are coming together to defend each other, how to create alternatives for safety outside the system, and pass local policies that reduce arrests and surveillance and shift funding from criminal justice to community programs.
Together we are building Beloved Community.

In faith and solidarity,

Susan                                                                            
Susan Leslie
UUA Congregational Advocacy and Witness Director
Multicultural Growth & Witness Staff Team
www.uua.org/loveresists

Facebook      Twitter      Instagram

sent to: _t.e.s.t_@example.com

Manage Subscriptions | Unsubscribe

Unitarian Universalist Association
24 Farnsworth St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02210
United States


Unsubscribe | Manage your UUA subscriptions

Unitarian Universalist Association
24 Farnsworth St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02210
United States